The Shakespeare Theatre Association (STA) was established to provide a forum for the artistic, managerial, educational leadership for theatres primarily involved with the production of the works of William Shakespeare; to discuss issues and methods of work, resources, and information; and to act as an advocate for Shakespearean productions and training.


The central focus of STA is our Annual Conference. Once a year STA holds a conference at one of its member theaters to share information directly relating to the production of Shakespeare’s plays. Conference agendas are built around a theme and include tracks for artistic, managerial, educational, and board-level leadership. The format for sessions within each track runs the spectrum from panel discussions to workshops, performances to keynotes, group discussions to lectures. Conferences include ample time for dialogue with peers through informal gatherings, receptions, and a closing dinner.  Future Conferences:  2018 - Cincinnati, Ohio, hosted by Cincinnati Shakespeare Company, January 17-20, 2018.  2019 - Prague, Czech Republic, hosted by Prague Shakespeare Company, January 2019.  The Education Practicon will be January 6-8, and the Conference itself, from January 9-12, 2019. 


STA is a 27 year-old member service organization that convenes annually to provide support and mentorship as well as share best practices with colleagues from within the United States and internationally. Membership now includes 124 theatres, and 30 Associate Members representing diverse types of theatre (indoor, outdoor, year-round, seasonal, university-affiliated, free) with wide-ranging budgets ($25,000 to $60,000,000) and Equity as well as non-Equity companies. STA’s member organizations cover a vast diversity of audiences and staffs composed of a variety of ethnicities, genders, ages and abilities.  Our national and international focus ensures a diversity of mission, vision and values within the Organization and international membership includes Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Great Britain, Germany, Georgia, Italy, South Korea, and others.